Luigi Pizzaleo was born in Como (Italy) in 1971. After accomplishing piano studies in 1991, he studied compostion with Edgar Alandia and Alessandro Solbiati, then electronic music and composition with Michelangelo Lupone. He taught Electroacoustic Composition at the Conservatory of L’Aquila, Software, Tools and Programming Languages for Multimedia at the Conservatory of Salerno and Latina. PHD in History of Electronic Music with a dissertation on electronic music in Rome in Sixties, he recently published a study on MEV-Musica Elettronica Viva (LIM-Libreria Italiana di Musicologia) and other musicological essays. He holds a class of History of Electronic Music at the Conservatory “Santa Cecilia” in Rome. His music is published by Da Vinci Edition. He is also a member of the Bateau-Lavoir Collective.. His composition have been performed in Italy and abroad (Tours, Amsterdam, Praha, L’viv, Freiburg in Briesgau, Córdoba (Argentina), New York.


Degrees in:

•Piano (Conservatory of Pescara, 1991)

•Composition (Conservatory of Pescara, 2000)

•Electronic music (Conservatory of L’Aquila, 2004) • Modern literature (University of Chieti, 1997)


•Music and technologies (Conservatory of L’Aquila, 2009)

Doctorate (PHD):

•Romance philology (University of Rome 1, 2006)

• History of Music (Storia dello Spettacolo, indirizzo Musica) (University of Florence, 2013)


•“Lucus” Contest, Potenza 1999 (second with a composition for 5 instruments)

•“Evangelisti” Contest, Roma 2009 (finalist, female voice and live electronics)

•“Listz” Contest for Pianists-Composers, Bellagio 2010 (finalist)

•“Bucchi” International Contest, Rome, 2011 (third prize)

•”H. Dutilleux” International Composition Competition, Tours 2012 (finlist, third prize)

•“Fedora” International Contest, Verbania 2013 (winner: commission for a ballet by Ismael Ivo, Director of Biennale Danza di Venezia)

Lascia un commento